Nürnberg Castle and Shopping

On sunday we finally had a much cooler day, thank God.  We headed off the check out the castle. It’s a pretty neat castle, but like most of Nürnberg, it was mostly destroyed during the war.  But some parts weren’t and we went in them at some point.
The walk up the hill was well up a hill.  But we had a beautiful view of the city.

image

image

Very steep

image

image

The castle was really cool and I recommend it.  The ticket we bought gave us access into many rooms, the museam, the well, and the tower.  The first couple of rooms were alright including the chapel. 

image

image

Upstairs had the history of the ruler of the city.  So now we have been the all the famous castles of the area which was neat.  I found Charlemagne again. Also saw the crown, which I think was the Original one!

image

image

Then we got to go into the weapons museam which was awesome! So I’ll just show you pictures.

image

My new boyfriend. He only says as you wish

image

image

image

image

image

image

We then came upon an opportunity to build the castle ourselves.  So we did with great gusto.  However, a young boy came over and told me “this is a child’s toy, you aren’t children.”  I told him we were children. He kept repeating That we weren’t. Finally I told him he could help us, which he did while still grumbling about us.  Then he ran away before we finished so I don’t know what offended him more, that we were playing with a toy or that he didn’t get it do it by himself.  Here is our finished castle.

image

Then there were a bunch of tack for horses shown as well.  It was neat expect for some reason they had a modern snaffle bit in there which was odd.

image

image

image

image

Next we headed to the well.  Here we finally found something sierra doesn’t like, wells.  This well was 50 meters deep dug by hand in the 14th century.  Can you imagine?  I didn’t want to loose my phone so only two pictures.

image

image

Then we headed to the tower which was not destroyed during the bombing.  I didn’t think that we would have to climb for some reason.  Anyways I started freaking out but Sierra was awesome and made me talk about knitting which worked pretty well and I made it to the top.

image

image

image

We knitted at the top, though I would have much preferred to go back down.  Making good progress on the sleeve. I’ve started the increases.
We got a bit lost looking fot the gardens but we found them and they were beautiful. Naturally we had to sit and knit there too.

image

image

image

image

image

image

There I cast on my latest lace shawl with yarn I bought early on.  It looks crappy because all lace shawls start out that way but I’m excited! The pattern is really lovely and should be very rewarding.

image

image

Then we headed to an outdoor dinning room to watch the end of the Irland vs France game  (which was very exciting, in the last 20 minutes France score twice and won the game).  We ate and knitted while waiting for the Germany vs Slovakia game to start.  Germany just crushed Slovakia but it was nice to hang out and watch.  Lots of goals, a rarity in soccer.

image

image

Today we have mostly just hung out. We thought about hiking but that seemed too difficult to get to.  We went shopping in the down town.  I bought some clothes. We had a nice lunch with the bold sparrows (they jumped on our table!). 

image

Then we found Another yarn store!  Whoot! We hit them in almost every town we were in.  This owner was really rude though and not in the least bit friendly.  Which was a bit disappointing.  I did end up buying a couple of balls for a baby sweater, it’s going to be adorable.  Sierra bought some buttons.

image

image

Now we are on the train to Frankfurt.  We both leave tomorrow, though at differnt times.  It has been a wonderful trip, but I’m really ready to see my husband again. 
image

I also finished my shawl a couple of days ago but forgot to take a picture. Here it is over Iceland ‘ s awesome win!
We stayed at a pretty ghetto hotel, but we survived despite being the only women we saw there.  The check in guy tried to convince me I had “perfect german” after he couldn’t understand what I was asking about the password.  The toilet lid wouldn’t open all the way so you had it digging into your back while you used said toilet.  I was pretty sure we were going to die.  But we didn’t and I have sent sierra off to catch her plane.  My plane isn’t until 530 so I’m sitting at the train station, having loaded up on Milka (the best chocolate ever), trying to decide if I want to go check out the churches down town or sit in front of starbucks a bit longer.  It’s trying to rain so I can’t decide what to do.

Thanks for reading the knitting trip of the year! It was amazing and I really enjoyed myself.  I hope you enjoyed reading along and laughing st our adventures. 

Leave a Reply

