Nürnberg and Churches

So I lost this post again, which is so frustrating.  So here we go for try two.
Today we moseyed around Nürnberg’s old town.  It’s a short walk from our apartment but man we were already sweating by the time we got there.

image

We found two churches literally right across from one another.  The first was a big unsusal as they had the alter in the center of the dom.  But it has great acoustics and since no one was there, I sang the Greek Christ is risen (I know Pascha is over but it’s the first thing that came to mind). And sure enough it sounded awesome and the echos made it sound like more than one of me.

image

image

The next church had cool middle ages era paintings and an interesting organ.

image

image

We set off in search of a guard tower to explore.  While looking for a door, we almost stumbled into the red light district.  Luckily the thoughtful Germans had a sign with English explaining what was going on that street.  There were some guys who yell maybe at us but we escaped with incident.

image

On our way to the main market we found another church….

image

image

This was a Lutheran church.  Nürnberg was one of the first cities to become a protestant city in the early days.
We crossed the river and found the market.  Later we bought berries but for now we just strolled.

image

image

And there was another church right across from the market!

image

image

Then we found Another church!

image

image

Finally we were churched out and headed to the park to knit.  I ran out of yarn on my lace shawl so I’m doing to bind off now.  I’m half way done with the bind off so I’ll finish today or tomorrow.

image

Then we headed to Albrecht Dürer’s house.  Dürer is one of my favorite artists and I was so excited to see his house. We decided to take the guided tour in English and the extra money was worth it.  The guide was Agnes, Dürer’s wife.  She showed us how tools like the printing press and the kitchen were used.  It was really cool.  We also got to see original woodcuts by Dürer upstairs but of course we couldn’t take pictures.  I got to see my favorite, der Ritter, which gave me chills.

image

One of my favorites, his self portrait, but not an original.

image

Cabinets from Dürer’s house. Amazing!

image

image

image

image

image

The very best part was. A couple of rooms had ac. So we went to the viewing room and knitted while viewing the art. It was glorious. 

image

I’m working on my sweater sleeve right now and it’s coming along.  I’ve even got the magic loop downish.

We rewarded ourselves with crepes.

image

At a shop we stopped in, the lady thought I had studied German in Germany! So that was very nice.  Enough people have said it so I think my German is finally coming along.  This trip really has been good for it. 
On our way back we stopped to buy food for this evening. I picked up a bottle of wine.  At the check out, I was thinking how nice it would be not to get carded.  I loathe getting carded, it’s such an inconvenience got me and it pretty much always happens.  So the cashier picks up my wine and looks me straight in the eye and says in a tone of a father scolding a child “are you 18?” I sputter.  He quickly realize that the legal age for wine is 16 and revises his statement.  I am indignant. I spit out in German, “really? I’m 24.” I then proceed to show him my drivers license. I have never ever been carded in Europe.  Not even when I was 17.  Never. All over a bottle of 2 buck chuck! At this point, Sierra, who had no idea what was going on, says very loudly “are you being carded?” And bursts out laughing.  The cashier quickly realized his mistakes and rings me up. I’m red and still indignant.  The older man behind me kindly tries to assure me it’s a compliment, while the young man behind him starts laughing. I can’t speak but I’m prwtty sure the cashier is embarrassed too.  We make our escape with Sierra still laughing at me.  I’m still irritated when I think back on it. 

We made it home and God answered our prayers.  It rained like crazy and sierra and I went out to dance in the rain which felt amazing! We locked ourselves out though so we had to run around giggling and wet to the front door.  It was great, thunder and everything.  I feel much better now.

Leave a Reply

