Munich and Wollemiese

Today we explored Munich.  It’s a very lovely city, but my allergies hate it.  I’ve been terrible nice we have been here.  Right now I have a death cough from laying down and I’ve used several packs of tissue.
In the morning we went to Viktualienmarkt, an open air market in the old city.  It was very peaceful and we saw lots of cool food, but the vendors were very pushy, which I didn’t like.  I bought cheese, cherries, and bread (not fresh which made me mad) for breakfast and some of it for dinner later.

image

The cheese I bought

image

image

Mushrooms!

image

Knitting in the square

We hunted down some churches but most we weren’t allowed to take pictures in and the others were too baroque for me.

image

We also went to the Rathaus or town hall, which was very lovely.

image

I

t

image

It has these beautiful stain glass windows and a billion stairs.  I climbed up to where the entrance was to the tower but I decided that I didn’t want to pay in case of another panic attack, though Ussually I’m pretty good with towers. 

image

Next we went in search of the residence but first we found this cool building (I think it’s the court house?

image

Finally we arrived at the Residence, which was the seat of the electors (people who got a say in who would be a holy Roman emperor).  It’s really cheap compared to other tours, you can stay as long as you like and you can take pictures!   It’s a pretty fantastic building.  The audio tour is actually a big long and towards the end I stopped listening but there is good information in it.  It’s a very baroque style palace, filled with gold everywhere.  It’s still pretty amazing.  Here are some pictures.  They had this hideous goto called the pleasure something and it was made with sea shells and it’s so ugly, but it was a novelty among all the gold.

image

The next room was a grand hall of some sort filled with statues and very beautiful.  Sierra and I sat and knitted in the room for about 20 minutes. 

image

image

image

Worked on the lace wish shawl, which is almost done, just a few more rows to go and then bind off!
There was a very lovely statue of Venus, modeled after the very famous Venus statue.  I love Venus statues, this one depicts Venus emerging from her bath.

image

There followed many other beautiful rooms and objects, but I will just show you a smattering here.

image

The church which was completely destroyed by the war. What it used to look like.

image

image

Gold door.

image

The music room and the one I liked best. Anyone guess why?

image

image

image

The throne room and obligitory miror selfe.

image

There are little porcelain jars in blue among the gold.

image

The halls of ancestors, a precursor to english portrait galleries.  Basicly. This hall gave the king right to be a king.

image

Charlemagne, who they believe they were decended from.

image

The family tree. With Adam and eve at the bottom.

image

After spending a couple of hours exploring, we headed off to find the yarn store in Munich.  After a little bit of difficulty, we found it!

image

image

It was a great store, but sadly only stocked American yarn, which was of no use to us. But we spent a couple hours knitting. 

The next day we got up bright and early to go to the highlight of any yarn tour, wollemiese. This is a very famous yarn store and brand.  We were so excited to go!  We arrived and the fun began!

image

The town who holds the store.

image

image

image

image

image

image

We spent a lot of time deciding on what we wanted.  Then we knit, then we shopped some more.  It was ungodly hot and humid.  Luckily on our side of the store there was a fan.  The lady told me though that if we sat too long in front of the fan we would get sick.  Sigh.  This is very powerful old wives tale that is the reason for no ac in Germany. Which was just awful on that day.  I think I lost 10 lbs in sweat.

image

Then we made friends with a lovely Australian girl from Melbourne.  She was awesome, besides being a knitter, she was also a spinner.  She showed us this gorgeous blanket she had just finished knitting, in which she had hand spun the wool.  It was amazing! If only i had time to spin! After fussing some more about what we wanted to buy, we bought our yarn.

image

image

image

This is me in front of the lace weight skiens. 1800 yards in a skien!!!

We had lunch with the Australian lady, I introduced them to Döner which they loved.  There we met a Bavarian lady, with a very thick accent and 6 children. Who wanted to tell me all about the middle ages in this part of Bavaria.  I only understood about 3 words our of 7.  But there was something about witches, festivals, and castles.  She also told me that the dialect liked to make everything shorter, something I had noticed but was glad to hear confirmed as I only had one example.

We sadly had to part ways with our new friend. Who told us to come visit her, to which we happily agreed! After waiting in the stifling heat for the train, we boarded also to be stifled on this train as well.  There was only a little breeze every one and a while.  I lost another 5 pounds in sweat. At some point I realized we had gotten on the longer train, which was a bummer but worked out to be about the same time.  There was so beautiful country side! Woods, old towns with walls, and I even saw a castle. The worst part was the river that kept taunting me winding by the train window.  I longed to throw myself into it. 

image

Anyways we arrived and collapsed into our new room in Nürnberg, and refused to leave, so no dinner for us.  Who knows what this new day holds?

2 thoughts on “Munich and Wollemiese

Leave a Reply

