Trains, Trains, and Castles

Well I wrote this whole post up and then it got deleted.  So I think the rewrite will be a bit shorter. 

We left super early from Vienna for a 4 hour train ride to Munich.  The train had wifi which was awesome because I could finally translate the sweater pattern I’d been meaning to do.  And I started working on the arm.  I also worked on sheherazad, but I think I am going to run out of yarn soon and the next ball is at home.

image

image

image

We also got some great views of the country side and the alps.

We arrived in Munich only to board the next train (2 more hours) for Füssen.  Here we got more great views of the alps and Alpine lakes.

image

image

Once we got to Füssen we had a tiny bit of confusion about which bus would take us to the castle.  That is right castle.  But I found out to my great delight that my regional pass worked for buses as well. So less money was spent which made me happy.  Once we arrived and got out tickets we had to wait another hour and a half before we could take the tour.  But it was ok.  We got ice cream and waiting in line for our carriage ride up the hill.  It’s takes about 40 mins to walk up the hill so we opted to save our legs and take a horse ride.   What castle am I talking about? Neuschwanstein! Only my favorite castle (and probably the world’s favorite castle as well) since I was 12.  Last time I was here, I didn’t go inside and I’m so happy I did. But first the carriage ride. 

There were a bunch of people in line so two carriages went before us.  But I’m glad because the carriage that took us contained an amazing man.  He jumped down from the cart and came and stood in the shade with us.  I told him it was the perfect idea and we started to converse.  We laughed a lot and then he promised us a good place, which he fullfilled.  We got to sit up front right next to him.

image

image

We talked about a bunch of things on the way up.  He told me he had been doing this for 21 years and before that he was a cow farmer.  I asked him what breed his horses were and he told me southern German cold bloods (a type of draft horse).  I then told him about the one time I drove cold bloods and before I knew it, he was putting the reins in my hands and letting me drive.  Driving is different then riding, since you have two horses you have to be a bit more firm, which I didn’t really figure out until the end.  But it was really neat. He let me drive the whole rest of the way and even park.  It was amazing.  So it pays to make friends with natives.

image

image

If you eat my fingers it will all be over.

image

image

The castle is amazing. If you haven’t seen it or are thinking about it, go!  It’s only half finished on the inside but what is done will blow you away. I sadly don’t have any pictures because you weren’t allowed to take any.  But it is spectacular! There are so many paintings, wood carvings, and mosaics that the half and hour tour is really not enough time to take it all in. I could have been in there for a couple of hours at least.  The throne room was decorated like an orthodox byzantine church, complete with a large chandler. The floor was a 2 million mosaic, that was amazing.  There was a great painting of st. George on the wall across from the king, who is the patron saint of the area.  The king was definitely influenced by orthodoxy as the icon of the Theotokos over his bed had the Greek letters for her name. Everything was stunning and I wish I had pictures to show you.
I do have pictures of my dream kitchen and the views from the balcony.

image

image

image

Then we left.  It was a bumpy ride getting back. We weren’t sure we were going to make the bus or the train, so we practicly ran down the hill (15 mins whoot!) And made it to the bus with 10 minutes to spare.  I almost got squeezed to death getting on the train as three people rushed forward at once and were being pushing inward by people behind.  Group panics are scary.  Anyways we made it on and made it back to Munich for a total of 8 hours on a train. 

The inside of Munich is really nice with lots of shops.  Once we stepped outside though it was a whole different world.  There were people who were high as kites, prostitutes, and several group of guys, one of which yelled at us.  It was kind of scary.  One of the high guys tried to play chicken with the tram, which he luckily won. Finally after getting on the wrong tram and having to switch, we made it to our new place. 
Today’s post is coming shortly.

Leave a Reply

