Palaces and Churches

Today is sunday, Pentecost, and father’s day.  Today we saw churches and a palace.  It was another incredible day!

The closest orthodox church was the Greek cathedral.  It was a stunning church.  Truly beautiful, though the icons were much more western in style.  My father and I were unwitting participants in a hiarchical liturgy(this means that the service has a bishop, which makes the service a lot longer).  I should have know since it was a cathedral.  But I didn’t.

image

image

Also even though the online info said 9, liturgy didn’t start until 945ish.  So when we arrived, I had no idea what was happening. It was the greeting of the bishop, but I didn’t realize it for quite some time.  But the service was lovely, they had a very nice all male choir.  The only funny thing that happened, was one of the deacons recognized that we weren’t Greek right away and at some point came over and told us that we could go to the urkrainian church down the road (which was catholic by the way ).  I was kind of confused but I told him we were fine.  I wasn’t really sure what his intentions were by telling me this, but I’m going to assume he just wanted us to be comfortable.  We were fine, except standing on marble for 3 hours hurts a lot. We had to leave at noon, before the service was over, which made me sad but we still had a lot to see.

image

image

image

The ceiling

image

A bit different from russian churches, the bishop’s seat was on the side. The bishop is the father in white.

After we met up with Sierra, we headed of to Schloss Schönbrunn.  What a beautiful palace! I have a little of what the Austrians call Sisifieber, or Sisi fever, I am a bit addicted to the empress of Austria, Elisabeth.  Anyways, she lived there for a bit and it was really cool to learn more about her life and her husband’s life.  The palace is a less grand version of Versailles, but still very beautiful!

image

We had an Austrian lunch, bratwurst and golosh for dad.  We took a walk around the gardens before our time for the palace.  They were also very beautiful.

image

image

image

image

Then we headed inside the palace to tour 26 rooms, which was just the right amount.  I’m glad we didn’t do the 40 rooms that we could have done.   However, we weren’t allowed to take pictures, so I only have a few illegal ones I took.

image

image

image

While dad went in search of Pepsi he had seen, a rarity in Europe, I sat on the steps of the palace and knitted. Eventually Sierra came and joined me, it was great.  I’m so close to being finished with the lilac wish shawl.

image

image

  We headed back to the gardens, so we could walk to the top of the hill, but we got way laid by a photo shot.  It was worth it though.  Again, I really should just bring an amazing dress with me when I am in Europe and keep it in my bag until such occasion as this arises, then put it on a take those pictures.  When will I learn? First I need to aquire that amazing dress.

image

image

It was pretty awesome being rapunzel. My hair cooperated quite nicely.

The walk up the hill was tough, man are my calves and ankles hurting, but the view was worth it. Such a pretty view of the palace and the city.

image

Me chilling with the merhorse.

image

image

image

image

Dad stayed behind, so sierra and I sat at the top and knitted for 20 minutes.  It was glorious.  It was cool but the sun with shining with a breeze.  In all it was perfect.

image

The next part is a bit painful for me.  We went to st Charles church, which is a magnificent church that was build by Emperor Charles and then finished by his son.  It’s amazing.

image

image

It has a great dome ceiling with beautiful paintings on it. And they charge you to get in so that you may take an elevator to the top of the Dom and look at the painting.  If you know me, you know I am terribly afraid of hights, something my father and I share. But he is braver than me.  He convinces me to get on the death trap.

image

As soon as the doors shut, I know I’ve made a huge mistake and I began to panic.  Which turned into a full on panic attack when we reached the top because the floor moved and shook when people walked around or climbed the next set of stairs for a view out of the Dom window.  So my dad goes to see how far he can climb on the stairs  (2 floors btw because it also shook when you climbed) and I’m sitting on a chair, trying to not completely loose it and throw up.  I’m shaking, I’m pale, I keep saying lord have mercy or oh my God. And this Italian woman who spoke very little english, thought it was the funnest thing in the world that I am losing my mind at the top of the dom.  She keep laughing at me.  Got to say when you are panicing, people laughing at you is not helpful.  So next time you see someone having a panic attack, try to reassure them, don’t laugh at them.
I did take a few pictures from the place I sat. I’m sure it was very beautiful, I honestly can’t remember, I was too busy contemplating my imminent death from falling 200 feet.

image

image

image

The ride down wasn’t as bad surprisingly, but dad held my hand and made sure no one came on our elevator so I could melt down in peace.  It look me 30 minutes to recover, but now I know for sure I will not be attempting any more high places I’m europe.  And no it wasn’t worth it, since it still makes me sick just thinking about it.

image

Pretty church on the bottom though! We walked back home and as promised, here are pictures of my projects. 

image

I finished the second chart on my baby blanket. Finally!! So now I am back to the first chart, which is the easy blue snowflakes on white border from the first side. Sheherazad is coming nicely, I’m almost half way into my current chart, which is very exciting.  I realized though, I brought too many projects that required you to look down, aka the baby blanket.  So I am going to cast on another lace shawl with the red baby alpaca lace weight I bought in Bonn. Just need the needles. 
My dad is leaving today (monday) so we are on our own and going to Bratislava! Yay a new country!

One thought on “Palaces and Churches

  1. Great story and pictures. Wien is such a great place. Adri really enjoyed Brataslava as well. You will have. A wonderful time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

