Something Old and Something New

Breakfast today we yummy except this time I tried the chicken I eyed yesterday.  Americans don’t eat chicken flesh for breakfast so to see a drumstick there was quite a shock.  However today I had it and man was it good.  I’m sad I won’t be able to eat one tomorrow as we leave too early for breakfast.

Today we were supposed to see my friend Annika in Düsseldorf, but she had a migraine and couldn’t come.  But my dad had a meeting there so we drove up with him.  It was nice because we got to see some pretty countryside as well as knit quite happily in the car. 

I will just say this, Düsseldorf is not a city for me. It’s very modern and hesslich.  There was one church which was supposed to be very beautiful.  Getting there was a bit sketchy.  While it wasn’t far from where we were, the directions had us leave the main map.  In all the movies when the heroine enters a scary place it gets darker. Well it got darker. There were some hobos mocking Muslims in the middle of the street. Graffiti was everywhere even though there were shops, which were not open ( still hung over from last night’s dispointment with Poland no doubt ). I was pretty sure we were going to get robbed but luckily a trust worthy looking construction workers was walking through them and we followed him quite closely so nothing happened.  However, it left a bad taste in my mouth and made me a bit nervous of the city.  When we got to the church, it was closed.  But it looked very pretty from the outside.

image

image

We took a lovely tour through an outdoor market, one of my favorite things about Germany and wish we had in the US.  There were flowers, meat, cheese, spices, baskets, seafood, vegetables, and much more, all staked in these tiny shops in a tiny area.   It was glorious. The flowers were glorious.

image

image

The hydrangeas were green and purple!

image

Cotton!
I bought some spices, like I always do and some yummy raspberry, which fortified us on our walking. 
There were no near by yarn stores so we didn’t get to visit any.  We did find one church though! It was very lovely.  We saw a monk who looked like he belonged in Robin hood with a brown habit and a white belt.  While we were there, the organ started playing and it was beautiful!

image

image

A rather orthodox hanging.
Our last hour was spent having the

image

best time. We found a tasty treats shop with chocolate cakes. We bought some and were shown to a lovely hidden garden where we ate, knit, and had a lovely peaceful time.

image

image

image

image

Bleeding hearts!

We went back to Bonn where a surprise awaited us.  My cheese had arrived! Mark, a friend of ours from our woofing days, is working on a cheese farm in Germany.  He sent me some yummy cheese he had just made.  I’m so excited to try it, even though I have no idea what it is!

image

After recuperating for a bit, sierra and I gathered ourselves, and headed out to Köln  (or Cologne).  We were really debating on going, but I’m glad that we did. Though we were packed like sardines into one of our trains! I held a high school Muslim girl when someone had to get off.  It was rather amusing to be so packed on a train.

image

Köln has some amazing churches!  The cathedral was truly amazing!  So beautiful and gigantic! It reminded me of notra dame, but 10 times bigger.

image

image

image

Obligatory outside photo.

There must have been 10 alters! And the church could have held 10,000 people! We also went down to the catecombs but there was only tours on certain days so we didn’t see anything exciting.  The church was magnificent but overwhelming.  Even though I could see 4 churches from the cathedral, we were way too tired to see any more churches. 

Instead we went to search of the yarn stores. We had to take two subways to get there, but it was fairly simple after I figured out which side of the track we had to be on! (Made that mistake more than once).

Down a quiet street, we found the yarn store.  It had a pretty cool selection and not that many brands that you find in the US.  I walked away with three skiens.  This brings my total up to 5.  I will have more yarn then I am
going to know what to do with!

image

image

image

Yarn store selfie.

She only displayed one skein of yarn, which left the shop with a nice tidy feel. I also loved the yarn stacked on spindles. The shop owner also told us that independent dyers here sell the yarn so cheap, it is impossible for shops to carry them.  While that made me sad, I totally understood.  The owner also took a picture inside for us.

image
image

Nice play on words here.

The trip back was exciting.  When we finally made it back to the main train station, we couldn’t find any trains that we could take that would take us back to the main train station in Bonn.  But I spotted one for Bonn Buel which is nearish our hotel.  I knew I could find our way back once we got back to Bonn so we boarded it.  However, the train’s station wasn’t working very well, since it only changed the stop about a minute before the station.  After the 4th station the automatic caller stopped working all together.  I had no way of knowing which stop was our or if we were even on the right train! It was very stressful.  Luckily when we rolled into a city, I knew it had to be Bonn so I asked someone and then we got off.  Luckily it was Bonn and there was a tram that would take us home leaving from that station.  However, the first one was broken and I didn’t know that word in German (it’s einsteigen by the way, means boarding) so I looked like a idiot trying to get on a stopped train. Finally a working tram came and we were off.

After we disembarked, it was raining slightly. We decided we were too tired to get out our rain jackets. So we keep walking. It started raining harder and harder. I yelled, “I will not put my jacket on unless it hails!” And magically the rain abated. I think I won this round.
Lastly, as I entered the hotel, wonder of wonders I saw my uncle! Which was pretty neat as I didn’t know he was in Bonn! Note our hair did not survive the rain battle
image

Now I’m packing a drinking a mixed drink packed with a wallop of a punch, made by my dad’s adoring hotel staff.  I hope I can get up for my 630 flight tomorrow!

I will give better updates about knitting and skiens bought tomorrow. I apologize for the post’s weird format. I did the best I could to fix it, but I’m not sure it worked and I have to get up in 6 hours. Also sorry for any grammatically and spelling mistakes.

One thought on “Something Old and Something New

  1. Cologne is a fabulous. I’m so glad you made it to the Cathedral there. I went many moons ago, too. So happy to see you had a great trip! Hug!

    Like

Leave a Reply

