Castle in the Yarn

I was too tired to write about yesterday.  Basicly I was in the airport from 6 am to 2 pm. For an hour I was frantically searching for Sierra because we couldn’t find her. Anyways eventually we found each other and trained up to Bonn.  All my worrying and my 45 minutes of sleep made it impossible to do anything.  So we hung out at the hotel, swam in the pool, sat with our feet in hot water.  It was all we were up for.
Today has been pretty cool!  In the morning we went up to Drachenfels and Schloss Drachenberg.  This castle and area seem to be a part of the Nibelungenlied, a famous German saga.  Siegfried slays a dragon (Drachen in German). So this whole area had a dragon theme.  There were some adorable little kids were running around the ruins screaming “ich bin ein Drachenfels” (I am a dragon slayer). They even had a reptile zoo (which we didn’t see). The view was amazing from the top of the hights.

image

We took a train up and had a nice lunch on the plaza.

image

Then we went down by the castle, but there was a wedding so we couldn’t go in. But it is a beautiful castle.

image

Then we got ice cream and waited for the river boat to take us back to Bonn.  But we found peppermint ice cream! It’s very difficult to find in Germany and I was really excited I got peppermint ice cream! The river boat cruise was nice but nothing special. Of course, I knitted while we waited for the boat to arrive. I worked on my baby blanket.

image

Later sierra and I headed to downtown Bonn to explore the old town.  We went to
Beethoven’s house.  Which was beauitful but a total rip off to pay for the tour. However it was pretty cool to see an original page from Gloria.  We weren’t allowed to take pictures so here is of the the outside.

image

Then we walked down the street to his church the name of Jesus.  Which was a beautiful church. They were playing B’s music which was very lovely.  On each meeting of an arch was an affirmation of the church in latin, like Jesus is the savior of the world. 

image

Then as soon as we walked out, we found a yarn store, totally by accident.  It’s kind of a joanns like store.  The lady didn’t speak English so more pratice for me! I didn’t buy any yarn but Sierra did.

image

And it rained on us for the next hour or so.    Also none of the streets in the alt city had any names, so we were lost for a bit but eventually I found the church I was looking for.  It was worth the wait. It’s one of the oldest churches in germany, built in the 11th century. For my orthodox readers, you will know why this matters imediantly. Yes there were tons of orthodox influences in the icons and paintings all over the walls.  It was stunning.

image

The big church. It was huge and beautiful.

image

The annunciation(Gabriel telling Mary that Christ will be born to her) with heavy orthodox influences.

image

Christ over the alter! Ic, xc!

image

It was a beautiful church!
Next, we headed for the yarn store. It was a bit of an adventure. We got on the wrong train going the wrong way, but luckily I figured it out and we got off at the next stop and found the right way for the right train.  After a bit of searching, we found the next yarn store.  They carried a bunch of yarn from dennmark and England, but it was lovely. I bought some red baby alpaca for a shawl.

image

image

The ladies there were very helpful and nice.  One showed me how to put my yarn behind in my other yarn for color knitting, which I didn’t know how to do! So very helpful.
Finally we took an illegal train ride (aka we didn’t pay for tickets because we couldn’t find a ticket booth). 
Now we are relaxing and drinking wine if you are me at the hotel and waiting for the rain to pass so we can watch the Germany Poland game. Deutschland! !

image

Leave a Reply

