The Great European Knitting Tour Part Two

This is a continuation of the first post, which you can read here.  This post takes a look at my current shawl projects  and decides which ones I am taking.  You can help too!

Shawl One:
image

Pattern: Sheherazade Beaded Lace Shawl by Anna Victoria

Yarn:  Hifa Hjerte – Superwash 4

Difficulty: Medium

Yes I used the same yarn.  I have been wanting to do this shawl forever.  It’s so beautiful and magical.  But it has beads, which slows me down considerably, and severely limits where it can be knitted (AKA only at home).  Nevertheless, I started it in May and I am on the first of four border charts.

Shawl Two:
image

Pattern:Lilac Wish Lace Shawl by Alina Appasov

Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss Lace

Difficulty: Easy-Medium

I’m making this as a sample shawl for a class I hope to teach at the end of the summer.  It was going to be for beginning lace shawl knitters, but I forgot that it wants you to pay a bit more attention.  So maybe not beginner beginner lace knitters, though you could.  Though this is easy, it’s not as pleasurable for me.

Shawl Three:
image

Pattern: Zetor by Jatta Saukko

Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss Lace

Difficulty: Easy

This was a shawl I was making for my church’s fundraiser that then got canceled and no one told me.  I haven’t work on it in months.  It’s easy and boring.  It’s not likely to get brought.

Shawl Four:
image

Pattern: Mist & Spray by Simone Kereit

Yarn: White Birch Fiber Art

Difficulty: Hard-ish

I bought this yarn at Stitches West this year and hunted for the perfect pattern.  I bought this pattern but I didn’t realize it had cables which I don’t like on lace patterns.  I like chunky cables.  I am seriously considering frogging it.  I also haven’t work on this in months.

Ok, now what to bring?  I will bring the baby blanket and Shawl One.  Yes I know they are more difficult patterns.  However, I am ridiculously sentimental and having a blanket I worked on in Europe is something I will treasure telling my children.

The shawl has to be worked on in a place where I can lay out all my tools (for beading).  Luckily long plane and train rides lend themselves to this, so I am going to bring it.

Lastly, I think I will bring just the arms of my sweater.  However, I can only do this if and only if I translate and photocopy the pattern from the book.  I need a quite place and good internet to translate the pattern and if I don’t do it before I leave, I never will.

So dear readers, what do you think I should bring?  If I can’t finish the translation in time, what should I bring in place of the sweater?  Leave me a message in the comments telling me!

Leave a Reply

