Planning the Great European Knitting Tour: Part One

It’s about to begin!  In just FOUR days my good friend Sierra and I are taking off for Europe!  It’s going to be amazing and we are going to have so much fun.  My husband has been left behind, sadly, but we are ready to take on whatever Europe has to offer us in terms of yarn, history, beauty, and did I mention yarn?

Yes it’s true, our primary goal is to visit a yarn store in every place we go.

In the days leading up to our great adventure, I wanted to share with the knitting community what I am doing to pack and prepare for the knitting trip of my life!

One of the first things I need to do is decide what projects I am bringing.  This is a bit of a challenge because you want to bring things that will hold your interest, or are more difficult but you don’t want to bring along dead weight either. How am I going to decide?

I’ve laid out all my current projects in the following pictures with a bit of an explanation and their difficulty level. Yes I have a lot of projects going on.
image

As you can see from the picture I have four shawls, one stole, one sweater, and one baby blanket all going.   Also I like blue and purple :p

The stole:
image

Pattern: Air by Erica Jackofsky (Fiddle Knits)

Yarn: Sandnes Garn Alpakka/Silke

Difficulty: Medium-Hard

This was my first beaded pattern and a product of my knit along frenzy from last winter.  I started it at the end of October and just haven’t made that much progress.  I should, it’s only 94 stitches across and I am finally out of the beading section, but I have had little motivation and have worked on it relatively seldom.   There are a lot of different things about this pattern.  For example, the open yarn overs in the white to blue section were accomplished by using short rows.  I just don’t have a lot of motivation to work on this pattern.

The Blanket:
image

Pattern: Baby Blanket Snowflakes / Vognteppet Snøfnugg by Pinneguri

Yarn: Hifa Hjerte – Superwash 4

Difficulty: Medium

This blanket is really special to me.  I saw this pattern on Ravelry and just feel in love with it.  Since it was Norwegian and I went to Norway last year, I knew I had to buy the yarn for this in Norway.  So I did.  But I have also been working on this since October.  This is partially because it is my first stranded knitting project and partially because it is a work on it when you feel like it.  There is no rush, I’m not pregnant, but I knew it would take me forever so I am working on it now.  I’m actually pretty close.  I’m in the last third of the pattern, then I need the border, and then there is a bunch of stuff about picking up and knitting a border.  Then I have to cut it.  So I am close but not so close I would finish it on the trip.

Sweater:
image

Pattern: Nr 13 “Fana” genser by Sandnes Design

Yarn: Dale Garn Baby Ull

Difficulty: Medium

So the hardest part about this pattern is it’s in Norwegian.  So in order to do anything, I have to translate the pattern.  Which is fine, expect that I am on the sleeves but can’t keep going because I haven’t translated the pattern, which is why I call it medium, otherwise it’s an easy stranded knitting sweater.  It’s actually a great introduction to stranded knitting.  I recommend something like it if you are looking to learn stranded knitting.  I am going to bring this one for sure.

The next post will bring you details of the shawls and what I am going to take to Europe!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

