Waiting

I’ve always been surprised that I enjoy knitting. I am not a patient person. I don’t like to wait for anything.

My computer was too slow, so I bought a solid state (man is that thing fast!)

I don’t have enough patient for thing.  It’s a problem, on which I am (slowly?) working.

Getting set up for a new project takes time. Depending on your project, you might have to knit a swatch, buy the right needles or yarn, wind the balls, or print out the pattern (and your printer is out of ink).  All these things can hinder you from starting your project. Or at least they hinder me. I have yet to actually swatch anything. This is also why I avoid making adult clothing. I don’t want to swatch.

Right now I am rolling balls of yarn for my new shawl. I don’t want to, but it doesn’t take that long if you have a swifter and it makes knitting a lot easier.  Unless you yarn breaks a lot.  Then winding a ball is a nightmare.

Here I am winding gloss fingering, Winter Night

Here I am winding gloss fingering, Winter Night

Luckily, this yarn hasn’t broken on me yet.

However, it is kind of satisfying.  Everything is neat and orderly in a ball, while in a skein, it tangles easily.

Once you have got your yarn in order, you can (hopefully) start your project.

I am writing this blog not just to chronicle my own knitting adventures, but to encourage people who are either just starting out or who want to try lace knitting.  I am by no means an expert, but I like helping people.  I think I will try to make some videos of how to do certain stitches and maybe one on how to read lace charts.   At some point I would like to start designing shawls as well.  Please join me on the journey of discovery and the creation of beautiful things.

Leave a Reply

