The Life and Times of Knitting with Failure

Is life stressful for you?

It is for me.  Most days I fee like I am drowning in a tidal wave of responsibilities, chores, papers, assignments, and wifely duties.

Before you feel bad for me, I chose this life.  In some ways, I think it is the only way I have ever know how to live life.  I use the stress to motivate me to get things done in my life that are important.

I don’t do that with knitting.

Knitting is the one place I can escape, without judgement, stress or pressure.  It is one of the things that I love about it so much.  With my hands in the soft yarn, the clicking of my wooden needles, the vibrant colors of my needles, I no longer need to fear failure.  If I make a mistake, I don’t have to fix it.  No one is going to notice, unless they spend hours examining my knitting.

I’m free.

I am a perfectionist, but not in the typical sense.  I fear failure so much, that I would rather not start something in case I fail, than start something and fail.

However, this is not the case with knitting.  I can start things, stop things, make huge mistakes, frog things, never look at them again things, but I don’t have this overwhelming sense of terror, every time I start a new project.   This is a true blessing for me, and why knitting is so relaxing and the perfect escape.

I am here to tell you that is failure is ok in knitting.   Failure is ok in general, but even I have a hard time believing that.  Even if you and I don’t believe it, it is still important to say it.

The first big project I made, was this lovely lace shawl patter.  Click on that link and look at that beautiful first pattern.  Mine did not look anywhere near that good.  I had been knitting less than two months.  Before you think I am a natural knitter, I am not.  However, there were several attempts made in my childhood to teach me.   So I had learned the basics of knit and purl before, but that was it.

Another thing you should know, if someone tells me I can’t do it, I am all the more determined to prove them wrong.  When my best friend told me I couldn’t knit that pattern, I saw red.  Determined to prove that I could do anything I put my mind to, I began the shawl.

It was not easy and I made a lot of mistakes, include this giant mistake where the pattern got so wonky and was off by about thirteen stitches because I added a bunch of stitches in the middle of the pattern.

But it looks lovely.  People tell me they love it all the time.

So the take away message from that story is do not be afraid to knit something you really want.  This is what makes knitting fun and enjoyable.  The fact that you can create beauty with yarn and a pattern is an amazing thing.  People are jealous that you can knit, and you shouldn’t let fear of failure stop you.

Go for it!  Try a new pattern.

Oh and here is how my shawl looked:

It was eight feet long!

Not bad for a beginner huh?  Sorry I don’t have a good picture of the really messed up part.

See ya knext time.  See what I did there?

Leave a Reply

